
Resources
Sexual Battery Victims’ Rights
Florida Constitution, Article I, Section 16 and F.S. 960.001. You have a right to: Report to law enforcement, or not Obtain a forensic exam, whether or not you report to law enforcement Have an advocate from a certified rape crisis center at the forensic exam with you Have the forensic exam kit sent for testing within 30 days, if reported to law enforcement Review the law enforcement report prior to report being finalized Be informed, present, and be heard at all crucial stages of the criminal proceeding Have identifying information about the criminal investigation kept confidential and exempt from public records F.S.119.071 and s.92.56 Be notified of judicial proceedings and scheduling changes Be notified about the release of incarcerated offender from confinement Consult with the State Attorney to share your views about the outcome of the case Request restitution (compensation) Give a victim impact statement Have an advocate with you during a discovery deposition (a defense attorney’s pre-trial questioning of witnesses) Have the offender, if charged, tested for HIV and hepatitis, and to receive results Attend sentencing or disposition of the offender If contacted to obtain information relating to a criminal procedure, be informed of name of person calling and employer Take up to 3 days of leave from work (with eligible employer and under certain conditions) F.S. 741.313
Victim Compensation
You may be eligible for financial assistance for: Medical Care Lost Income Mental Health Services Housing Relocation Other expenses related to injuries as a result of the crime F.S. 960.01 through s.960.14 and F.S. 960.199 There are several eligibility requirements to qualify for victim compensation, including reporting the crime to law enforcement. Contact your local certified rape crisis center for more information and assistance with filing for victims’ compensation.
HELP is Available
You, as a victim of a sexual assault crime, need compassion, empathy, and support. Being the victim of a crime can be overwhelming. Your reactions are normal. Local certified rape crisis centers have advocates who are able to help all victims, regardless of whether or not they report to law enforcement. Services are free and confidential – certified rape crisis centers are legally and ethically required to protect your confidentiality, unless you allow, in writing, the release of your information, F.S 90.5035. Advocates are available to: Provide crisis intervention Speak to you on the 24-hour hotline Discuss your options Navigate available resources Go with you to appointments Address safety concerns Advocate on your behalf Help you apply for victim compensation
Resources
Florida Council Against Sexual Violence 1-888-956-7273 www.fcasv.org Office of the Attorney General, Bureau of Victim Compensation 1-800-226-6667 www.myfloridalegal.com/victim-compensation Florida Department of Law Enforcement www.fdle.fl.us Sexual Offender / Predator Unit 1-888-357-7332 / 1-850-410-8572 For TTY Accessibility: 1-877-414-7234 Email: sexpred@fdle.state.fl.us Florida Department of Corrections Victim Information and Notification Everyday (VINE) 1-877-VINE-4-FL www.dc.state.fl.us.oth/victasst/index.html Florida Abuse Hotline 1-800-962-2873





